These countries still haven’t recognized Montenegro

Zastava Crne Gore

Out of 194 countries in the world, the following ones still haven’t recognized Montenegro as the state: Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Equatorial Guinea, Yemen, Cameroon, Madagascar, Marshall Islands, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Somalia, St Thomas and Prince Islands and Tonga.

The first country that recognized Montenegro’s independence was Iceland and it happened on 8 June. One of the first countries that recognized the state of Montenegro were Russia, Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Romania, Bulgaria, Italy, Belgium, Algeria, Andorra… Iceland was the first country that ratified the Accession Agreement between Montenegro and NATO. The last country that recognized Montenegro was the Bahamas – in 2017 when the diplomatic relations between the two countries were established, writes Pobjeda daily.

When it comes to the diplomatic relations, Montenegro still hasn’t established them with the Republic of Kiribati, which recognized our country in 2014.

As for the diplomatic missions, Montenegro has 30 embassies in 30 countries worldwide, 6 permanent missions and 4 general consulates.





Send this to a friend